Cyber Essentials 101 – The 5 Controls

5 Tests of Cyber Essentials

Cyber Essentials 101 – The 5 Controls

It is now becoming more important than ever to ensure your business is protected and certified against the cyber risks. Cyber Essentials is the government’s flagship programme that helps businesses take structured steps to become cyber secure. Once achieved, Cyber Essentials provides a certification standard that can be used publicly to promote your business as a security conscious organisation. The certification has to be renewed annually and is based on 5 key components to ensure a comprehensive to cyber defences, which include both technical and process driven elements.


These 5 controls are:


  1. Boundary firewall
  2. Secure configuration control
  3. Access control
  4. Malware protection
  5. Patch management


Click any of the above links to read our articles with more details.


Having met these 5 controls, your business will not only increase its cyber defences, but meet the criteria outlined to achieve a Cyber Essentials certification.


Not sure where to begin?

We can help. As a Gold IASME certified body, Urban Network is fully qualified to help your business achieve security compliance with the UK Government-backed Cyber Essentials Scheme.

If you have questions, are looking for support or simply want to understand more about Cyber Essentials, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.